The Official Indie R&B Chart

TW  LW Artist Song Title Label Spin
1   1 Usher Good Good 5 Weeks at #1 Mega/Gamma 17226
2   2 Leela James Right Back in It BMG 5201
3   3 Astn & Alex Vaughn How Soon ASTN Records 4201
4   4 Melba Moore it Seems To Hang On Hush 3421
5   5 Tony Lindsay I Can't help Lovin You Anthony Mark Lindsay 3175
6   13 Maysa Beautiful Blue Velvet Soul Records None
7   8 Joy Denalane Hideaway Four Music Productions None
8   7 Devon Howard Wherever You Are N/A None
9   14 Andy Stokes Turn Back Now New5 Records /PWG Now None
10   10 Deshun Cougar At Home JEA Records None
11   12 Aston Grey Project Feat Keisha Adams Wanna Be Yours Platinum Vybe Recordings None
12   16 Anthony David & Algebra Blessett Need You Now N/A None
13   6 Lynn Davis Beautiful You Bella Records None
14   9 Frank McComb & Michon Young Neither One Of Us Platinum Vybe / The Orchard None
15   15 Kevin Jones How Close N/A None
16   15 Spencer Morales Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin Quantize Recordings None
17   17 Robyn Springer Crazy Bout You Platinum Vybe Recordings None
18   18 Kirk Franklin Try Love Fo Yo Soul Recordings None
19   19 Tyrese Love Transaction Voltron None
20   20 D Steven Morning N/A None
21   22 Kyaira Sugar Honey Lemon Iced Tea Blaze Unitd None
22   25 Keke Wyatt Water Into Wine Shanachie ENT. None
23   23 Lin Roundtree One You Trippin N' Rhythm Records None
24   24 Danny Boy Just Friends Chicago Creed None
25   27 Alex Isley, Terrence Martin Paradise South Central Music None
26   21 Jtreece &n The Terri Green Project Close the Door Euro Musik None
27   29 Christian Keyes So Sweet Umbrella Ent None
28   28 Erica Falls Up N/A None
29   30 Conya Doss Feat B. Golden 4 Everlasting N/A None
30   NE The Shindellas Oh La La Weirdo Workshop 225
31   EX Euge Groove Measure For Measure Shanachie ENT. 148
32   EX Anthony David Let me In Purpose Music Group 122
33   EX Lina Nikol Tell me If Its Worth It N/A 111
34   EX Bad Girl Feat King George Steppin Out N/A 101
35   EX Muni Long Made For Me Supergiant Records 97
36   EX Cornell Carter, Narada Michael Walden Id Rather Dance With You Nicolosi.Walden Music 95
37   EX BJ The Chicago Kid Spend The Night BMG 88
38   EX Loie Standing N/A 73
39   EX Incignito Keep me In The Dark N/A 70
40   EX Tammy Harris He N/A 48

Powered By Warm World Airplay Radio Monitor

The Indie Artist of the week

Conya Doss

Conya Doss’ 9th LP, “Through Rose-Colored Glasses,” reflects constant duality in its meaning.
Doss states. “…..For me, generally, the term means perceiving everything as great and focusing on the positives in every situation.  On the other hand, it can also be viewed as giving the perception that all is great but when we look completely THROUGH the beautiful rose-colored glasses, we find a mesh of complexities and imperfections. Often such an outlook is necessary in order to cope…..”.
This project is a culmination of all of the above.  The first single, “Not Trading You,” consisting of smooth rhythmic mid tempo vibes, shows that despite the ups and downs of a relationship, the good outweighs the bad. Consistent with this concept is “Long Haul” (Antione Amalbert on Trumpet), which demonstrates unconditional love no matter what.  The song “It Ain’t Easy” featuring the incomparable Eric Roberson, focuses on the strength of two people who realize that relationships are not always perfect or easy to build, but love rules all and is worth it.

Conversely, Seeing things only ‘Through Rose-Colored Glasses’ may not be in our best interest. Sometimes it is necessary to see things just as they are. Occasionally with open communication and transparency, things could possibly turn around. This leads to Conya’s second single from this LP entitled “Wishful Thinking,” featuring B. Golden. “Wishful Thinking” is a  feel-good groove that demonstrates that things are exactly how we see them,  whether or not we accept it.  Another song that draws parallels is “Sand Castles” featuring OsKeyz, which stresses that all relationships have been built on a solid foundation.

Other standout songs are  “Come on and Get this Love”, “Happy Valley” featuring OsKeyz, “Show Me” featuring Lin Rountree. These grooves are so funky, you will inevitably either bob your head or repeat the hooks.  “Black is Beautiful” provides creative songwriting letting us know that no matter what negative portrayals of black people, Conya reiterates in her messaging that black people always have and will continue to be strong, resilient people.  “Funny” featuring the talented Micki Miller is another soulfully jazzy tune encouraging others to be patient and true love will present itself right on time. Doss, Myron Davis, and Rodney Jones serve as the main producers on “Through Rose-Colored Glasses” in addition to producers B. Golden Micki Miller.

Like roses growing from concrete, all of Doss’ album titles are authentically steeped in the spirit of growth, resilience, and grown-woman femininity. “Through Rose-Colored Glasses” continues to build on Conya’s prolific legacy of excellence. 

The Indie Soul Top 5 Video